Machakos County

County Headquarters: Machakos Town


Population: 1,098,584 (2009 Census)


Kamba is the dominant tribe and is metropolitan



The main economic activities of Machakos  are  Agriculture and Open air Market trade.


The current governor is Alfred Mutua

Machakos County Constituencies

It Consists of 8 Constituencies

  • Masinga
  • Yatta
  • Kangundo
  • Matungulu
  • Kathiani
  • Mavoko
  • Machakos Town
  • Mwala


Machakos County is a county of Kenya. Its capital is Machakos which is the largest town and  the country’s first administrative headquarters. The county has a population of 1,421,932 according to the 2019 census. The county borders Nairobi and Kiambu counties to the west, Embu to the north, Kitui to the east, Makueni to the south, Kajiado to the south west, and Muranga and Kirinyaga to the north west.


The office of the governor of Machakos was created on 27 March 2013. Alfred Mutua is the inaugural holder of the office.



There are many primary schools in Machakos County, including Machakos Primary School and Machakos Academy.

Machakos County has giant secondary schools such as Machakos School (boys), Machakos Girls’ School, Mumbuni Boys’ Secondary School, Mumbuni Girls’ Secondary School, Masii Boys’ Secondary School, Tala Girls’ School, Matungulu Girls’ High School, Kitulu Day Secondary School and Kabaa High School (boys), which boasts of a castle which was left behind by Christian missionaries. This castle is now a museum.

Kwa Nthanze Secondary School, which is also found in Machakos County, is famous for its volleyball championship in the country.

Universities and colleges within Machakos County include Machakos University, Scott Theological University, South Eastern Kenya University (SEKU), St. Paul’s University, African Training Center for Research and Technology,[4] Century Park College, Machakos Institute of Technology, and Machakos Technical Training Institute for the Blind.



The local climate is semi-arid with hilly terrain and an altitude of 1000 to 2100 metres above sea level.

Tourist-related activities include camping, hiking safaris, ecotourism and cultural tourism, dance and music festivals.



Subsistence agriculture is mostly practiced with maize and drought-resistant crops such as sorghum and millet being grown due to the area’s semi-arid state. The county also plays host to the open air market concept with major market days where large amounts of produce are traded. Fruits, vegetables and other food stuffs like maize and beans are sold in these markets.


The county is banking on projects such as the Konza Technology City, a new Machakos City and its proximity to Nairobi County to boost output in the economy.


The county has eight constituencies:

Masinga Constituency

Yatta Constituency

Kangundo Constituency

Matungulu Constituency

Kathiani Constituency

Mavoko Constituency

Machakos Town Constituency

Mwala Constituency