Mombasa County


County Headquarters: Mombasa Town.


Its population is 939,370 (2009 Census)


Mombasa is largely Metropolitan



The Main economic activity of Mombasa county is trade, tourism and Port.


Current governor: Ali Hassan Joho

Mombasa County Constituencies

It Consists of 6 Constituencies

  • Changamwe
  • Jomvu
  • Kisauni
  • Nyali
  • Likoni
  • Mvita


Mombasa County is one of the 47 counties of Kenya. Its capital and the only city in the county is Mombasa. The governor of Mombasa County is Ali Hassan Joho. Initially, it was one of the former districts of Kenya but in 2013, it was reconstituted as a county, on the same boundaries. It is the smallest county in Kenya, covering an area of 229.7 km2 excluding 65 km2 of water mass. The county is situated in the south eastern part of the former Coast Province. It borders Kilifi County to the north, Kwale County to the south west and the Indian Ocean to the east. Administratively, the county is divided into seven divisions, eighteen locations and thirty sub-locations.

Mombasa County lies within the coast lowland, which rises gradually from the sea level in the east to slightly over 76 m above sea level in the mainland west. The highest point is at Nguu Tatu hills in the mainland north that rises up to 100 m above sea level.


Mombasa County’s population is 1,208,333 according on the 2019 Kenya Population and Housing Census (KPHC). It is therefore one of the most populous with the one on the highest number of people per sq. km in the country.


Kenya was divided into eight provinces prior to 2013, which were subdivided into 47 counties. In the former Coast Province there are six counties, Mombasa being one of them. It is situated in the southeast of Coast Province. It is the smallest in size, covering an area of 212.5 km². The county lies between latitudes 3°56’ and 4°10’ south of the equator and longitudes 39°34’ and 39°46’ east.

Mombasa has a long history the traces can be found from the writings of the 16th century. Many traders did attempt to enforce their governance on the town due to its advantageously central location, where Arab influence is felt prominently till date.

Mombasa has a long history the traces can be found from the writings of the 16th century. Many traders did attempt to enforce their governance on the town due to its advantageously central location, where Arab influence is felt prominently till date.

The town of Mombasa remained the center of the Arab trade in ivory and slaves from the 8th to the 16th century. It is known that Arab traders sailed down around to the coast of Kenya from the first century AD who continued to build trade along the ports of Mombasa and Lamu.

Portuguese also had their influence on the port that changed the face of the land by burning it almost three times. It is believed that Vasco da Gama was the first known European to visit Mombasa, whose purpose of exploration was to spread the Christian faith to further expand Portugal’s trading area. Mombasa became Portugal’s main trading centre of spices, cotton and coffee, where Fort Jesus was constructed. The Fort served as the major center for trading goods that protected the Portuguese from conflicts with locals the remains of which still attracts a great deal of tourists and visitors. As slavery was highly practiced during that era, the local slaves were exchanged for goods.

Until 1698, the Portuguese controlled the city, but soon the Omani Arabs took over the charge.

Finally, the British took control of Mombasa in 1895, wherein the British East African Protectorate was established.

Colonization perpetuated in Mombasa that promoted European culture over the town and the Kenyan lands. Like in India, the British gained momentum and established control of the port. They even completed a railway line in the early 1900’s from Mombasa to Uganda which is perhaps the major landmark in the history of Mombasa. Thus, from 1887 to 1907, Mombasa remained the capital of the British East Africa Protectorate.

The British rule ended and Kenya received its independence on the 12th December 1963. From herein, began the creation of political parties and unions that faced elections for the formation of a stable government. Though significant political shifts and oppositions led to violence, the pressure from the international and African community led the leaders to finally come to a consensus and form a power-sharing agreement.


The county and the city are divided into four divisions:

Mombasa Island – 14.1 km²

Changamwe – 54.5 km²

Likoni – 51.3 km²

Kisauni – 109.7 km²


Mombasa is an urban city county and for this reason there is a large population of both local and immigrant communities. The local communities include the Mijikenda, Swahili and Kenyan Arabs. The Mijikenda is the largest community in Mombasa county making almost 35% of the total population in the county. The immigrant Kamba community is second largest ethnic community in the county making almost 30% of the total population of the county. The Kamba people have been known for their expansive knowledge of business and trade ranging from small scale to large scale followed closely by their GEMA counterparts. Other significant immigrant communities include the Luo, Luhya and Somali communities.



The county is composed of 6 Parliamentary constituencies:

Changamwe:   Port Reitz, Kipevu, Airport, Changamwe, Chaani

Jomvu:                                Jomvu Kuu, Miritini, Mikindani

Kisauni:              Mjambere, Junda, Bamburi, Mwakirunge, Mtopanga, Magogoni, Shanzu

Nyali:                   Frere Town, Ziwa la Ngombe, Mkomani, Kongowea, Kadzandani

Likoni:                 Mtongwe, Shika Adabu, Bofu, Likoni, Timbwani

Mvita:                 Mji wa Kale/Makadara, Tudor, Tononoka, Majengo Ganjoni/Shimanzi