Tharaka-Nithi County

County Headquarters: Kathwana


Population: 365,330  (2009 Census)


It is home to the Ameru Community.  The people of Tharaka-Nithi County are now predominantly Christian with the Catholics, the  Presbytarian, and the Methodists being the predominant religious communities.


Like Other Counties surrounding  Mount Kenya, the primary economic activities in Tharaka-Nithi County are tea and coffee planting, subsistence dairy farming,as well as keeping of other livestock such as goats and sheep.


The current governor is Muthomi Njuki.


Tharaka-Nithi Constituencies

The county has 3 constituencies:

  • Maara
  • Chuka-Igambang’ombe
  • Tharaka